Complete List of Nominees of Film Independent Spirit Awards 2019

Film Independent Spirit Awards
Film Independent Spirit Awards

Welcome back again to the award season!

The Film Independent Spirit Awards announced it’s nominees of the 2019 on Friday. The former cast member of Saturday Night Live Molly Shannon and Crazy Rich Asians star Gemma Chan announced the nominees. The announcement was done live from the W Hotel. The award ceremony is running in it’s 34th year.

The mission of the award show “is to champion creative independence in visual storytelling and support a community of artists who embody diversity, innovation and uniqueness of vision.” Film Independent Members vote to determine the winners of the Spirit Awards.

Film Independent Spirit Awards
Film Independent Spirit Awards

But, the list of the winners will be announced on February of 2019. The ceremony will be held at the iconic Santa Monica Pier and broadcast live on IFC.

Check the complete list of nominees of Film Independent Spirit Awards as published by E!:

Best Female Lead

Glenn Close, The Wife

Toni Collette, Hereditary

Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade

Regina Hall, Support the Girls

Helena Howard, Madeline’s Madeline

Carey Mulligan, Wildlife

Best Male Lead

John Cho, Searching

Daveed Diggs, Blindspotting

Ethan Hawke, First Reformed

Christian Malheiros, Sócrates

Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really There

Best First Feature


Sorry to Bother You

The Tale

We the Animals


Best Director

Debra Granik, Leave No Trace

Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could Talk

Tamara Jenkins, Private Life

Lynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really Here

Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best Feature

Eighth Grade

First Reformed

If Beale Street Could Talk

Leave No Trace

You Were Never Really Here

Robert Altman Award


Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansman

The Bonnie Award

Debra Granki

Tamara Jenkins

Karyn Kusama

The Producers Award

Jonathan Duffy and Kelly Williams

Gabrielle Nadig

Shrihari Sathe

The Someone to Watch Award

Alex Moratto, Sócrates

Ioana Uricaru, Lemonade

Jeremiah Zager, We the Animals

The Truer Than Fiction Award

Alexandria Bombach, On Her Shoulders

Bing Liu, Minding the Gap

RaMell Ross, Hale County This Morning, This Evening

Best Supporting Female

Kayli Carter, Private Life

Tyne Daly, A Bread Factory

Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk

Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Leave No Trace

Smith-Cameron, Nancy

Best Supporting Male

Raúl Castillo, We the Animals

Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansman

Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me

Josh Hamilton, Eighth Grade

John David Washington, Monsters and Men

Best Screenplay

Richard Glatzer (Writer/Story By), Rebecca Lenkiewicz & Wash Westmoreland, Colette

Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Tamara Jenkins, Private Life

Boots Riley, Sorry to Bother You

Paul Schrader, First Reformed