Complete List of Winners: Independent Spirit Awards 2019

Film Independent Spirit Awards
Film Independent Spirit Awards

The Independent Spirit Awards 2019 Is Here!

The Independent Spirit Awards Ceremony was held on February 23, 2019. Similarly, the ceremony honored and handed it’s allocades to the best independent films of 2018.

Former cast member of Saturday Night Live Molly Shannon and Gemma Chan had announced the nominees of the award ceremony in November.

The mission of the award show “is to champion creative independence in visual storytelling and support a community of artists who embody diversity, innovation and uniqueness of vision.” Film Independent Members has voted to determine the winners of the Spirit Awards.

Let’s Check Out the Winners:

Best Feature

WINNER: If Beale Street Could Talk

Eighth Grade

First Reformed

Leave No Trace

You Were Never Really Here

Best First Feature

WINNER: Sorry to Bother You


The Tale

We the Animals


Best Director

WINNER: Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could Talk

Debra Granik, Leave No Trace

Tamara Jenkins, Private Life

Lynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really Here

Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best Screenplay

WINNER: Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Richard Glatzer, Rebecca Lenkiewicz & Wash Westmoreland, Colette

Tamara Jenkins, Private Life

Boots Riley, Sorry to Bother You

Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade film

John Cassavetes Award

WINNER: En El Séptimo Día

A Bread Factory

Never Goin’ Back


Thunder Road

Best First Screenplay

WINNER: Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade

Christina Choe, Nancy

Cory Finley, Thoroughbreds

Jennifer Fox, The Tale

Quinn Shephard (Writer/Story By) and Laurie Shephard (Story By), Blame

Best Editing

WINNER: Joe Bini, You Were Never Really There

Keiko Deguchi, Brian A. Kates & Jeremiah Zagar, We the Animals

Luke Dunkley, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill & Julian Hart, American Animals

Anne Fabini, Alex Hall and Gary Levy, The Tale

Nick Houy, Mid90s

Glenn Close, The Wife

Best Cinematography

WINNER: Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Suspiria

Ashley Connor, Madeline’s Madeline

Diego Garcia, Wildlife

Benjamin Loeb, Mandy

Zak Mulligan, We the Animals

Best Female Lead

WINNER: Glenn Close, The Wife

Toni Collette, Hereditary

Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade

Regina Hall, Support the Girls

Helena Howard, Madeline’s Madeline

Carey Mulligan, Wildlife

Best Male Lead

WINNER: Ethan Hawke, First Reformed

John Cho, Searching

Daveed Diggs, Blindspotting

Christian Malheiros, Sócrates

Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really There

Adam Driver, John David Washington, BlacKkKlansman

Best Supporting Female

WINNER: Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk

Kayli Carter, Private Life

Tyne Daly, A Bread Factory

Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Leave No Trace

Smith-Cameron, Nancy

Best Supporting Male

WINNER: Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me

Raúl Castillo, We the Animals

Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansman

Josh Hamilton, Eighth Grade

John David Washington, Monsters and Men

Yalitza Aparicio, Roma

Best Documentary

WINNER: Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Hale Country This Morning, This Evening

Minding the Gap

Of Fathers and Sons

On Her Shoulders


Best International Film

WINNER: Roma (Mexico)

Burning (South Korea)

The Favourite (United Kingdom)

Happy as Lazzaro (Italy)

Shoplifters (Japan)

Robert Altman Award

WINNER: Debra Granki


The Bonnie Award

Tamara Jenkins

Karyn Kusama

The Producers Award

WINNER: Shrihari Sathe

Jonathan Duffy and Kelly Williams

Gabrielle Nadig

The Someone to Watch Award

WINNER: Alex Moratto, Sócrates

Ioana Uricaru, Lemonade

Jeremiah Zager, We the Animals

The Truer Than Fiction Award

Alexandria Bombach, On Her Shoulders

WINNER: Bing Liu, Minding the Gap

RaMell Ross, Hale County This Morning, This Evening

Congratulations All The Winners!